Staying Safe

How To Hide Your Visit

If you are accessing our site from a shared computer you may not want other users to see that you have accessed our website. To hide your visit to our website please see the following instructions below.

Internet Explorer

To determine which version of Internet Explorer you are using, open a new window, click on ‘Help' and then press ‘About Internet Explorer'

  • Version 8 & Up
    In the toolbar at the top there's an item marked ‘Safety'. If you click that you'll see an option called ‘InPrivate Browsing'. Clicking this opens a new window and any sites you look at whilst under InPrivate Browsing will not be recorded on your machine.
    Also in the ‘Safety' menu is the option to ‘Delete Browsing History'. If you click this option, you'll be presented with a list of tick boxes for removing browsing history. You should tick Temporary Internet Files, Cookies and History, then press the ‘Delete' button at the bottom of the popup.
  • Version 7
    Under the ‘Tools' menu at the top, select ‘Delete Browsing History'. The popup presents a series of buttons you can click to remove items that will have been saved to your computer whilst browsing the web. You should delete the ‘Temporary Internet Files', ‘Cookies' and ‘History' by pressing the ‘Delete files...', ‘Delete cookies...' and ‘Delete history...' buttons respectively.
  • Version 6
    Click on the ‘Tools' item in the menu at the top, and select ‘Internet Options...' from the dropdown menu. Under the ‘Temporary Internet Files' section, click the ‘Delete Cookies' and ‘Delete Files' buttons and click ok to the respective popups to complete the action. Under the ‘History' section, click the ‘Clear History' button and click the ‘OK' button that appears in the popup.

Mozilla Firefox

Under ‘Tools' you can select ‘Start Private Browsing' and this will prevent Firefox from recording your movements on the web.

Under the ‘History' option you can select ‘Show All History' and individually select and delete your browsing history. You can search the history to make sure you've removed all the URLs you've visited.

Under the ‘Tools' menu, you can select ‘Clear Recent History'. You can then decide how far back you wish to delete from 1 hour to everything.

 

Chrome

Under the ‘File' menu, you can select ‘New Incognito Window'. This will prevent your online activity from being recorded.

If you click on ‘Chrome' and ‘Preferences' and then select ‘History', there's a button marked ‘Clear all browsing data...'. This opens a popup with check boxes on it. You should tick ‘Clear browsing history', ‘Clear download history', ‘Empty the cache' and ‘Delete cookies and other site and plug-in data'. At the top you can choose how far back you want Chrome to go to remove the data from the past hour right back to the start.

 

Safari

Under Safari select ‘Private Browsing...' to stop Safari from making a record of the sites you're visiting.

Under the ‘History' menu, you can select ‘Show All History' and remove individual sites from the history records. At the bottom of the ‘History' menu is the ‘Clear History...' option, that will delete all your browsing history.

If you go to the ‘Preferences' menu and select the ‘Privacy' tab, there's a button marked ‘Remove All Website Data...'. This will clear out all the cookies and files that have been saved into your browser whilst surfing the net.

 

Opera

You can select ‘New Private Window' from the ‘File' menu. This ensures that when you close that private window at the end of your session, Opera will delete all the files and data it stored during that session.

Under the ‘Tools' menu, you can select ‘Delete Private Data...'. The ‘Detailed Options' tab will show you that you're deleting all your cookies and history, and will close all your currently open tabs.